2018 Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship Recipients announced

Published: January 11, 2018 by Stephanie Fox, Program Officer, Grants and Scholarships

The Johnson County Community Foundation (JCCF) announced today that three Johnson County students have been selected as the 2018 Lilly Endowment Community Scholars.

From nearly 200 applicants, the following students were selected based on their impressive community service and academic dedication throughout their high school careers. Avery Auton and Britney Klotzsche, both seniors of Franklin Community High School, and Madalynn Bright, a senior at Greenwood High School, will receive full-tuition scholarships and an annual $900.00 book stipend as the 2018 Johnson County Lilly Endowment Community Scholars.

“The JCCF Board and Scholarship Committee are pleased to have these young women join the current Johnson County Lilly Scholars in representing our county,” said Scholarship Committee Chair Marcia Grossnickle.

This is the 21st year that the Johnson County Community Foundation has administered the program and the first year in recent history that the county has been able to award three deserving students with the Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship. Applicants were selected based on volunteer community service, academic preparation and performance, leadership, and good character.

Each year, the 12-member scholarship committee puts a great deal of time and thought into nominating these scholars. After the Johnson County Community Foundation scholarship committee narrowed the field to the final nominees, the finalists’ names were submitted to Independent Colleges of Indiana, Inc. (ICI) for the final selection of the recipients.

ICI is a nonprofit corporation that represents 30 regionally accredited degree granting, nonprofit, private colleges and universities in the state.

The scholarships are the result of a statewide Lilly Endowment initiative to help Hoosier students reach higher levels of education.

The Johnson County Community Foundation is a nonprofit public charity established in 1991 to serve donors, award grants and provide leadership to improve Johnson County forever. For more information, call JCCF at 317-738-2213 or visit

A special thanks to our Platinum Community Partners!

Logo for AldersonLogo for BairdLogo for Compass Pointe CPAsLogo for Daily Journal SouthLogo for Johnson County Farm BureauLogo for Raymond James