2023 Color the County winning murals and Community Painting Day announced

Published: June 19, 2023 by Kim Kasting, vice president of development

The winners of the Johnson County Community Foundation’s (JCCF) 2023 Color the County Mural Program design contest and the 2023 Community Painting Day were announced today. This year’s mural has touching beginnings that will be brought to life in the community by two artists.

Chrissy Robertson is a graduate of Herron School of Art and Design and is a creative professional with a passion for the arts and design. Chrissy's love for the arts extends to her active involvement in the local community. In 2018 she co-founded Creative Council of Franklin, a non-profit organization focused on promoting the arts and engaging the community through various art events. Recognizing her contributions to the arts, Chrissy was appointed by the Mayor of Franklin, Steve Barnett, to serve on the Franklin Public Art Advisory Commission, where she continues to champion the growth and accessibility of art in the community. In addition to her artistic endeavors, Chrissy has also served on the board of the Friends of the Johnson County Library for the last six years, four of which she acted as president.

Gabriel Yaden is an international award-winning figurative painter from downtown Franklin, Indiana. From still-life paintings infused with energetic pastels, to slick inky sketches, to grandiose figurative oil paintings Gabriel works across a multitude of styles and media. Gabriel; or Demo Yaden, attended Herron School of Art and Design, Franklin College and The Art Department where he studied studio art and illustration. When not in his Franklin studio working with oils, he is out working in design and illustration for everything from murals to concept art for games. Much of his work can be seen throughout downtown Franklin.

JCCF invites residents of all ages to help bring the mural to life this summer at a Community Painting Day. Painting supplies and refreshments will be provided.

Community Painting Day:

  • Date: Saturday, August 5, 2023 from 9:00 a.m. to 12:00 p.m.
  • Location: Book Barn (JCPL Franklin Branch) 401 State St., Franklin, Indiana


Murals and artists 2023

The Story Behind the Art:

In fall 2021 Amy Kitchen asked the JCPL administration if they would consider putting a mural on the "Book Barn" at the Franklin Branch Library property. She and her friend, Merilee Allen, the Friends of JCPL book sale coordinator, asked for the mural together. JCPL reached out to JCCF to learn more about the Color the County Mural Program. Amy was passionate about design and art, and as JCPL's graphic designer for 33 years, JCPL was heartbroken when she died in October 2022. At that time, the JCPL Book Barn mural was already in the works with JCCF.

Amy’s vision for the Book Barn was that it would become the destination photo spot. Amy wanted the mural to appeal to a wide variety of people of all ages and encourage the enjoyment of different types of art. She wanted the art to draw in locals and tourists; to welcome people and encourage exploration of the area. The designs selected should certainly deliver on Amy’s dream!

“We are so grateful for the opportunity to make Amy's dream come true. We think she would have been over the moon with delight at the designs selected,” said Lisa Lintner, JCPL.

Amy Kitchen

JCCF established the Color the County Mural Program in 2016 to celebrate its 25th Anniversary and has since painted 12 murals across the county. Color the County joins the community and artists through the collaborative process of mural-making to create powerful artworks in Johnson County. For more information visit Direct questions about the mural program to Kim Kasting.

The Johnson County Community Foundation is a nonprofit public charity established in 1991 to serve donors, award grants and provide leadership to improve Johnson County forever. Learn more at

A special thanks to our Platinum Community Partners!

Logo for BairdLogo for Cornett Roofing SystemsLogo for Compass Pointe CPAsLogo for AIM Media – Daily Journal SouthLogo for Endress+HauserLogo for Johnson County Farm BureauLogo for Raymond James