Mural Program

Color the County

Our Color the County is an artful collaboration that connects people who care with causes that matter. And in this case, what matters is improving the cultural fabric of our community through public art.

The Johnson County Community Foundation (JCCF) launched the countywide mural program in 2016 to celebrate our Foundation’s 25th Anniversary. Coloring the county was the perfect way to party and the mural program was our gift to the community.

We developed the initiative to live on through future artistic efforts, and our goal is now a reality. Each year we invite local artists to participate in a design competition and the designs are brought to life through Community Painting Days. 

2016 Bargersville mural painting day

2020 Mural Program

Local artists, emerging artists, art students and creative community members were invited to submit mural designs by Friday, June 19, 2020 for the Color the County Mural Program’s 2020 selected location in Bargersville. The submissions are now being reviewed and the selected design will be announced soon. Stay tuned for the coming announcement!

  • Bargersville, IN: 89 S. Baldwin Street, Taxman Brewing (west facing facade) 
  • Direct questions to Kim Minton

Color the County Mural Program logo
Support for the mural program provided by
  • Elba L. and Gene Portteus Branigin Foundation
  • Indiana Arts Commission
Indiana Arts Commission logo

2019 Mural Program

In 2019, JCCF added two murals – one in Franklin and another in Trafalgar. We celebrated each work of art with a summer Community Painting Day where residents of all ages helped us bring the murals to life.


Shannon McKeon’s mural design was chosen for the mural location at 249 S. Main Street, Richards Brick Oven Pizza in Franklin, IN. McKeon is Prepress & Graphics Manager at Dynamark Graphics Group Indianapolis.

The Community Painting Day was June 29, and the mural is now complete. Visit Richards Brick Oven Pizza and snap a photo by the mural. Tag us on social media!

2019 Color the County Franklin mural


Creative Council’s mural design was chosen for the mural location at 800 S. Indian Creek Drive Trafalgar, IN. Artists include: Chrissy Robertson, Creative Director at Hightower Graphics in Indianapolis; Meredith Pierson, CSR at Renaissance Electronic Services in Indianapolis; Patrick Tisdale, Painter, President of Creative Council of Franklin; and Elissa McKee, Co-Owner of 1823 Bakehouse in Franklin and Coffee Grrrls in Bargersville.

The Community Painting Day was August 17 where the mural was brought to life. Be sure to look for the mural while traveling by Indian Creek Schools on State Road 252. The mural is located on the west wall of the Indian Creek Learning Center.

mural artists


2018 Murals

Our Color the County Mural Program added murals in Franklin and Edinburgh in 2018. See photos from the Franklin and Edinburgh Community Painting Days.

S Main bridge underpass mural

South Main Street Bridge Underpass • Artist Erin Davis

Edinburgh mural 2018

100/102 East Main Cross Street • Artist Andrea Light

2017 Murals

In 2017, our Color the County Mural Program added murals in Franklin and Whiteland. See photos from the Franklin and Whiteland Community Painting Days.

Color the County Franklin mural 2017

 315 E. Jefferson Street • Artist Danny Causey

2017 Whiteland mural

530 Main Street • Artist Dave Windisch

2016 Color the County Launch

JCCF identified three mural-worthy locations in Bargersville, Franklin and Greenwood, invited local artists to participate in a design competition and brought the designs to life through Community Painting Days. Color the County engaged the community in a beautification event for all ages, decorated our communities and set the stage for future mural-making efforts. If you want to see how much fun you can have, view the 2016 Color the County slide show.

2016 Bargersville mural

10 S. Baldwin Street • Artist Amber Berninger

2016 Franklin mural

86 W. Court Street • Artist Gordon Strain

2016 Greenwood mural

189 W. Main Street • Artist Amy Hommel

Indiana Arts Commission logo
Support for the 2017-2019 murals provided by Indiana Arts Commission.

Contact JCCF today.

Email: Kim Minton, Vice President of Development | Call: 317-738-2213

Arts and Culture initiatives add to the quality of life in our community. 

A special thanks to our Platinum Community Partners!

Logo for AldersonLogo for BairdLogo for Daily Journal SouthLogo for Johnson County Farm BureauLogo for Johnson Memorial HealthLogo for Lake City BankLogo for Raymond James